Old Website
IIT Roorkee Homepage


  • Achievement 25 May, 2021

    Avinash Singh Research Scholar of the Department has been awarded prestigious and competitive fellowship PMRF for his proposal " DESIGN AND ANALYSIS OF WIDEBAND LINEARIZED POWER AMPLIFIER" under the guidance of Prof Karun Rawat and Prof M.V.Kartikeyan. The Department congratulates Avinash for this success.

  • Achievement 22 Apr, 2021

    Prof. Sourajeet Roy has been elevated to IEEE Senior Member position for his contribution to the Microwave Theory and Techniques (MTT) and Electronic Packaging (EP) societies. He currently leads the Computational Modeling and Simulation (CMAS) research group in the ECE department where his students work in the field of machine learning-based electronic design automation (EDA) of electronic circuits and uncertainty quantification of microwave/RF circuits.

  • Admissions 09 Jun, 2021

    Interview schedule for PhD Admissions (Autumn 2021)

Admissions Download Brochure for MTech in VLSI : A Program for Industry Professionals. Admissions 2022 Interview schedule for PhD Admissions (Autumn 2021).


We are launching a new 3-year MTech in VLSI program for working professionals.

All classes are live and can be attended remotely. Every semester, there is a contact Program with our faculty in Greater Noida Campus of IIT Roorkee.


IIT Roorkee gets technology hub in Cyber-Physical Systems: Divyasampark iHub

“Cyber-Physical System comprises an advanced suite of technologies that will address the challenges of Industry 4.0 and foster an innovative and entrepreneurial ecosystem. This initiative will offer us an opportunity to shape futuristic India.” :- Prof. Sudeb Dasgupta

New Faculty

Dr. Ekant Sharma has recently joined as an Assistant Professor in ECE Dept. He received the PhD and M.Tech. degree from IIT Kanpur, India, with the Signal Processing, Communication and Networks Group, in the department of Electrical Engineering.

Areas of Interest: Beyond 5G/6G communication, Practical massive MIMO, Cell-fee massive MIMO, Intelligent reflecting surfaces, Non-orthogonal multiple access, Full-duplex, Multi-cell and multi-hop communication, Unmanned aerial vehicles/Drones, Energy-efficient systems

New Faculty

Dr. Akhilesh Mohan has recently joined as an Associate Professor in ECE Dept. He received the B. Tech. degree in Electronics Engineering from Kamla Nehru Institute of Technology Sultanpur, the M.Tech. degree and Ph.D. degree in Microwave Engineering from IIT Kanpur.

Areas of Interest: The design of planar antennas, microwave filters, and absorbers for wireless communication systems.

New Faculty

Dr. Saurabh Khanna has recently joined as an Assistant Professor in ECE Dept. He completed his B. Tech (Electrical Engineering) from IIT Kanpur in 2007 and PhD from Indian Institute of Science Bangalore in 2018.

Areas of Interest: Compressive Sensing, inference and learning with sparse/deep generative models, inverse problems, signal processing for wireless communications and radar imaging.

New Faculty

Dr. Avirup Dasgupta has recently joined as an Assistant Professor in ECE Dept. Dr. Avirup Dasgupta completed his undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur.

Areas of Interest: Numerical and compact models for emerging semiconductor technologies, modeling of psychopathology, room temperature quantum computing and genome sequencing.

New Faculty

Dr. Tanmoy Pramanik has recently joined as an Assistant Professor in ECE Dept. He holds a BE degree in Instrumentation and Electronics Engineering from Jadavpur University, Kolkata, and a M.Tech degree in Electrical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay.

Areas of Interest: magnetic random access memory, growth and characterization of magnetic thin films for device application, memory reliability of cache and embedded memories in advanced technology nodes.